Bossypants

C has been in daycare since he was 3 months old and in preschool 2 days a week since I stopped working full-time. He’s had other kiddos and teachers around since he was very little so he’s used to a school environment.

In some ways, the preschool years are when the real “parenting” comes in, in terms of discipline, direction and teaching kids how to behave. I guess it’s working, because we got our first note home last week from one of his teachers that C was telling other kids not to do something they shouldn’t be doing. I’m not going to lie, part of me was thinking “well, maybe you should have told them before he did”, but I’m not there, so what do I know.

It never feels good to get a note sent home, but I have to chalk some of it up to “being 4”. We’re very consistent with enforcing good behavior, but on the other hand, some kids just have bossy personalities, and I don’t know if that should be stifled. As an adult in the working environment, he’ll need to obviously act appropriately, but shouldn’t a future boss be a little bossy :)?

Overall, I’m not going to worry about it too much, but it seems like we’ll have our hands full working on the balance between bossy and being an overall well-mannered kiddo.

Leave a Reply

