She’s Here!

I can’t believe it’s already been almost a month, but little baby A arrived late last month. The last few weeks of this pregnancy were rough, much rougher than with C. I had very painful Braxton Hicks contractions, one series that sent me to the hospital, to only get sent back home. It was frustrating, very frustrating. When I had C, one day I was in labor and then that was it, so the weeks of what seemed like unending fake contractions was beyond tiring.

Finally, one morning I was playing with C in the living room and had a few really strong contractions pretty close together. I took a shower and had 2 in the shower (so about 5 minutes apart), and I had a feeling it was really “go” time. We went to the hospital and they were close enough together (and I was 39 weeks) so they admitted me. Fortunately, once we were ready, I was able to get an epidural without waiting too long and then once she was ready to go – 5 minutes and she was out. We couldn’t believe it.

C has been really great with her, though navigating parenting a 3 year old (and all his 3 year old-ness) and a newborn has it’s challenges. Some days I really feel like “I got this” and other days it’s sort of a mess. I’m sure we’ll figure it out and get into a good groove, especially as A gets older and isn’t basically a poop and eating machine.

Leave a comment