Introducing Moms: Your Target Market

Image

At the end of the day, I’m still a marketer. I can still see a good marketing campaign and be really impressed, or conversely, see a horrible one and say “geez, I could’ve helped you with that one.” One thing that it’s been hard to avoid since we had C is the ever presence of marketing to moms, but it’s really been intensified in the last few months.

I remember all of the research and case studies from business school talking about how moms are the decision makers for a lot of purchases in the household (from cleaning products to the family car), regardless of whether or not they work outside the home. I’m not sure if that’s the case for us, but what I do know is that brands pound the “mom’s choice”, or “moms agree” messaging pretty hard in advertising.

What’s hilarious to me is when the benefits are lauded in a product that’s NOT beneficial for your child, like unbelievably processed food in the name of a few minutes of convenience. Even if I wasn’t a marketer, wouldn’t I see right through this? Maybe not, but wow, it’s a little unnerving to think that a brand (or more likely, an ad agency) agreed that basically talking down to parents and assuming they’re oblivious will equate to higher sales.

Parents may have different philosophies on child-rearing, but at the end of the day, you hope that moms are savvy enough to know that just because an enterprise company has done some secondary research on “what mom’s want”, you have to know what’s right for your family and their needs, and make informed decisions. Parenting is hard, and I’d rather a company ask me to try their product to see if it’s right for me, instead of insisting it is.

Leave a Reply

